The Wanaka Arts Charitable Trust presents Sculpture in Central Otago, a biennial exhibition featuring outdoor sculpture for sale by leading New Zealand artists.

Sculpture in Central Otago provides an opportunity to see new artworks set in the spectacular Rippon Vineyard along the edge of Lake Wanaka. This is an exhibition of New Zealand’s leading sculptors set in the stunning South Island landscape showcasing some of our most creative, accomplished and dynamic artists.

Sculpture in Central Otago.

Sculpture in Central Otago is operated by the Wanaka Arts Charitable Trust whose primary aim is to promote sculpture and fine art with particular emphasis on the Wanaka and Central Otago Region. We appreciate the support of select local businesses and individuals who have joined us in becoming sponsors and patrons. Their support provides us with the opportunity to help grow Sculpture in Central Otago into one of Wanaka's leading cultural events significantly contributing to the arts in the local community.


Sculpture in Central Otago 2011 was a very successful event. Visitors had the unique opportunity to spend time amongst the inspiring work of some of New Zealand’s most prominent sculptors, exploring the internationally-acclaimed biodynamic Rippon vineyard, and enjoying great wine, great food and great coffee. A highlight was the artists’ talks where we learnt more about their work, while simply relaxing in the shade of the trees while listening to the live music of the alluring Icelandic-born, New Zealand-based singer/songwriter Hera.

Please note the 2013 Sculpture in Central Otago exhibition is currently on hold. We will provide an update through this website.

For details and images of the 2011 exhibition click here.

Participating artists in 2011 included:

Gary Baynes
Russell Beck
Graham Bennett
Julie Butler
Bing Dawe
Paul Dibble
Jane Downes


Ben Foster
Robert Hague
Mark Hill
Martin Hill
Phillip Jarvis
Greg Johns
Hamish Jones
Duncan Leask
  Cheryl Lucas
Ernie Maluschnig
Doug Neil
Rose Petterson
Rebecca Rose
Dan Rutherford
Anna Scott  

Jenny Smith
Johnny Turner
Richard Wedekind
Mark Whyte
Shane Woolridge
James Wright
Bruce Young 

    website design by zeevo